White Coffee Infusion

White Coffee Infusion – Chai by Teabean

When I saw the opportunity to try this new product on Steepster.com; I knew I had to try it. I had never heard of white coffee before, nor had I ever encounter coffee in teabags, or chai flavored coffee. It sounded super interesting and exciting to me.

First off the teabags are really heavy. Way heavier than normal pyramid teabags are. I took that as a good sign! When I opened the packaging I caught a whiff of a pretty standard chai tea scent. I smell all the typical spices that chai is associated with: cinnamon, ginger, etc. It smells quite yummy seeing as I adore spices and chai. Once the water hit the tea the scent immediately transformed to cinnamon oatmeal. Strange, but delicious none-the-less. Then when I removed the teabag I swear it smelled like peanut butter for a second. Yeah I know that makes no sense, but it really did. Not to worry though the tea still smells like a good old-fashioned cup of chai tea.

Now on to the flavor…

First sip impression: There is this earthy/woodsy taste, followed up by a distinctive chai flavor.

Once I took another sip the earthy/woodsy tone took on a little bit more of a coffee feel, but very very lightly. It kind of tastes like a cinnamon spice late, but with out the bitterness of coffee (or the calories). I am not a huge coffee person. I will drink a cup every now and again but mostly it has to be heavily sweetened and flavored to mask the unpleasant aftertaste. This tea is like all the fun of coffee with out the bitter after-taste.

I think anyone that likes chai tea and/or coffee will probably like this tea. It is truly unique. I love how it doesn’t taste like anything I have ever had before. I think I am going to try my second sample steeped at 10 minutes (this one was steeped for 5) and with a healthy splash of milk. I am betting it will be decadent.

And finally…

I took a couple of pictures while I was preparing this cup of tea. It is kind of hard to take a good picture of a wet tea bag (they happen to not be the prettiest thing in the world), but I tried.

Also I thought this dishtowel would be the perfect background for tea photo-shoots. What do you think? Too busy? Or appropriately thematic?

~Caitlin

, , ,

  1. #1 by RachanaC on April 22, 2011 - 11:24 am

    I liked the towel but it is a bit too busy to see the beauty of the tea and accessories. Funny, thing I haven’t written my review yet because I am been racking my brain trying to describe what I tasted and you put it best in this review…”Peanut Butter” Thank you! Maybe I wil be writing my review soon.

    • #2 by Caitlin on April 22, 2011 - 5:39 pm

      I am glad I am not the only one who tasted Peanut Butter!

  2. #3 by cb on April 22, 2011 - 2:49 pm

    coffee in a tea bag? what a perfect combination? i love coffee and tea! okay so i just started trying a london fog and i am soooo obsessed! have you tried one? it is almost like a tea latte but with a tiny shot of vanilla…sooooo yummy!

    xo,
    cb

    • #4 by RachanaC on April 22, 2011 - 3:45 pm

      I think I tried London Fog type tea years ago and remembered it to be bold, slightly sweet, and creamy. Does that sound right?

    • #5 by Caitlin on April 22, 2011 - 5:39 pm

      I know isn’t the coffee tea combo and awesome idea. And I think I have had a London Fog. I <3 all tea latte type items!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

