A Few Favorite 90s TV Shows

I think my Wonderful Wednesday post from yesterday was less than stellar. In my defense I had an awful headache whilst writing it. To make up for that post’s lameness, I am doing a super awesome A Few Favorites. At least I think it is super awesome (feel free to disagree). Without further ado:

Favorite 90s TV Shows:

1. Captain Planet – “He’s our hero, Gonna take pollution down to zero.” Fun and educational. I always used to fight with my cousin about who got to be “fire” and “wind” (we apparently didn’t like “earth”, “water” & “heart”).

2. Rugrats – Is there anyone who didn’t love this show? It was pretty much my favorite show from ages 5-11.

3. Zoom – I am pretty sure this show originally aired in the 70s but I watched the 90s remake. As a kid I always wanted to do crafts and baking projects. This show was my inspiration (probably to my parents dismay).

4. Justice League – I adored this superhero show. My Mom still sometimes makes fun of me for how much I watched it when I was younger (I still attest it is a super cool show). Actually, when I first met Jim he had a Justice League football in his dorm room. We totally would have been best friends as little kids. (Edit: I just found out that apparently this show actually started in 2001, but I am keeping it anyway).

5. Northern Exposure – I have distinct memories of watching the first couple of seasons of this show with my parents. I couldn’t have been more than 3 or 4, but I felt so special getting to stay up and watch it with them. Plus I have rewatched all the seasons about half a dozen times and it is still quirky and hilarious.

6. Reading Rainbow – Another show that started before my time, but it ran all the way into the 2000s so it definitely had a major presence in my childhood. To be honest I remember very little about this show except for the opening sequence.

7. Wishbone – I loved loved loved this show. It was this little talking dog that told you classic stories (Don Quixote, Treasure Island, etc). For years I begged my parents to buy me a “wishbone dog.”

8. Hercules & Xena – I put these together because they were pretty similar shows and often had shared episodes. I have always been obsessed with Greek myths. I just find them to be fascinating and fun. I was allowed to stay up and watch these shows with my parents which made them all the more special. P.S. Iolaus was always way cooler than Hercules (just saying).

I think that is all I have for today. I could probably keep going, but I think it would just start getting excessive (maybe I’ll do a part 2?). I am not really sure why I make lists of 8 things so often. Probably because 8 is my favorite number. According to certain Psych studies 8 is my favorite number because I was born in the 8th month of the year (random fact of the day).

But now I am just rambling about random things, so I am going to get on with ending this post.

Please feel free to share your favorite 90s TV shows in comments.

~Caitlin

, ,

  1. #1 by MJ on June 16, 2011 - 1:07 pm

    I totally remember Rugrats and The Reading Rainbow. Oh, this really takes me back. I actually have a couple of the Rugrats movies… maybe I’ll pop one in this weekend… but Angelica always stressed me out!

  2. #2 by Caitlin on June 17, 2011 - 12:25 pm

    Oh Angelica! She is stressful – haha.

Leave a Reply

