When Life Gives You Pineapple Cottage Cheese

The other day I decided that I was going to make the stuffed eggplant recipe that my mom used to make for me when I was in high school. As a college student, sometimes you just really miss your mom’s cooking. I got the recipe from her and then acquired all the ingredients (or so I thought).

I went about making the stuffed eggplant on Friday night. The recipe called for one cup of cottage cheese. When I opened the cottage cheese it had these odd little yellow chunks in it. At first I thought that it had gone bad, but upon further inspection I discovered that I had accidentally purchased pineapple cottage cheese. I stood there for a second contemplating how to salvage my dinner. Luckily I remembered that it was okay to substitute an egg for the cottage cheese and hence dinner was saved (and delicious).

However, I was still left with the problem of what to do with the cottage cheese. I don’t particularly like cottage cheese, but I didn’t just want to throw it out. And then I made these awesome little things:

Photo 1

Berry Smoothie Pops!!

1/2 cup pineapple cottage cheese

1/3 cup frozen blueberries

1/2 cup frozen strawberries

Milk

Place all of these items in a blender. Add milk until you obtain your desired consistency. Then carefully pour into ice pop molds and freeze for 4+ hours (this makes 6 regular sized ice pops).

Tada!! Efficient use of accidental purchases…

Photo 2

~Caitlin

, ,

  1. #1 by the Jilb on August 15, 2011 - 3:39 pm

    Those look yummy!!

  2. #2 by Caitlin on August 15, 2011 - 5:44 pm

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

