52 Teas: A Six Part Series (2)

I got my second tea from 52 teas yesterday! It was perfect timing too because I had a big exam this morning and needed something fun to try afterwards. Pina Colada Tea sounds like a great way to celebrate a post exam Friday morning – doesn’t it?

Week 2: Special Pina Colada Green

(Image courtesy of 52teas.com)

To start out let me just say that this tea is fantastic! It so so awesome that I am doing a second steep as I type this, and I almost never steep tea multiple times!

The tea itself has huge chunks of dried pineapple, and giant coconut flakes. They aren’t those little dinky coconut flakes that you buy at the grocery store or find in an almond joy bar, but rather they are almost the size of the pineapple pieces. On top of that the tea smells awesome! I have never had a Pina Colada before, but I have had Pina Colada milkshakes and it smells just like one of those. Creamy and tropical!

Once the tea has steeped it smells sweet and buttery. When I was little my mom used to put butter and white sugar on rice to get me to eat it (really bizarre – I know). It smells just like that! Brings back memories, maybe that is why I like it so much. Although it is more likely due to the fact that it tastes positively heavenly.

When you take a sip a there is a tropical green tea flavor and then this hint of creaminess at the end. I really am getting the feeling that I am drinking something made with coconut milk. It is superb! It is truly everything you could want in a tea. It is interesting, unique, and completely yummy, but without losing the tea flavor.

If you haven’t tried 52 teas yet, this would be a great tea to try out!

~Caitlin

, , ,

  1. #1 by RachanaC on March 25, 2011 - 10:13 pm

    Caitlin it is your review that got me to buy 2 oz of this tea today. I hope it is as good for me as it is for you. I also wanted to let you know that your moms rice trick is an old trick the moms in India used on kids to get them to eat their rice as well. She is a smart woman. Although we used basmati rice with purified butter and white sugar or sometimes a version of brown sugar. Either way it did the trick. I hope simalar memories are recovered for me as well when I drink this tea. So in short…totally not weird at all.

    • #2 by Caitlin on March 25, 2011 - 10:43 pm

      I hope you like it! And wow that is so funny! I will have to tell my mom that.

  1. 52 Teas: A Six Part Series (6) « a purple dress

Leave a comment